Celebrating Young Adult fiction by UK authors

His Dark Materials series by Philip Pullman


Published in 40 countries, Philip Pullman’s His Dark Materials trilogy – The Golden Compass, The Subtle Knife, and The Amber Spyglass – has graced the “New York Times,” “Wall Street Journal,” “San Francisco Chronicle,” “Book Sense,” and “Publishers Weekly” bestseller lists.
“The Golden Compass” forms the first part of a story in three volumes. The first volume is set in a world like ours, but different in many ways. The second volume is set partly in the world we know. The third moves between many worlds.

Visit Philip’s website

The His Dark Materials series is No. 2 in our Top 10 Best- Ever UKYA novels.


Author: K

YA writer. Voracious reader. Feminist. Home educator. Addicted to tea and Twitter.

6 thoughts on “His Dark Materials series by Philip Pullman

  1. Northern Lights (The Golden Compass) is my all time favourite book. It’s so imaginative, well written, well structured and such an inspiration to all fantasy writers out there

  2. Pingback: The Top 10 Best-Ever UKYA novels – as voted by YOU « UKYA

  3. Pingback: Sangu Mandanna’s Top 10 UKYA books | UKYA

  4. Pingback: Author James Dawson’s Top 10 UKYA books | UKYA

  5. Pingback: Author Kate Kelly’s UKYA Top 10 | UKYA

  6. Pingback: Laura of Sister Spooky: Book Fangirl’s Top 10 (and more) UKYA books | UKYA